The Zimbabwe Prisons and Correctional Service (ZPCS) is established in terms of Section 227 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (No. 20) Act 2013 which states that there shall be a Prisons and Correctional Service.


ZPCS is the biggest department falling under the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs. It has a total of 46 Prisons, 2 are for female prisoners only (Chikurubi Female and Shurugwi), 17 house male prisoners only, 27 house both males and females as well as 24 satellite prisons (temporary prisons) and 1 open prison. The department has 24 farms with a total arable land of 3 437ha. The official holding capacity is 17 000 whilst our prison population fluctuates around 19 000 inmates.

Admin Act

The administration and conditions of prisons are regulated mainly by the Prisons Act {Chapter 7:11}, the Prisons (General) Regulations, 1996 and the Commissioner General’s Standing Orders which draw a lot of influence from the international standard minimum rules, principles and guidelines on the treatment of offenders. There are other pieces of legislation which are Prisons (Staff)(Discipline) Regulations, 1984, Prisons (General) Regulations, 1968, Prisons (Staff) (Appointment and Discharge) Regulations 1968, Prisons (Staff) (Marriage) Regulations 1983 etc.


Sporting activities create a sustainable environment that promote access for all, excellence, social harmony, economic development and well being of ZPCS officers and inmates.